Sonic Symphony Concert

Sonic Symphony is doing a world tour, and I’ve got tickets to go!
For those who don’t know, Sonic Symphony is a performance of original arrangements from Sonic games. The first concert was for Sonic’s 30th anniversary and was a free live stream on YouTube (though I wasn’t aware of it then). The livestream is still up on YouTube, or you can find that music on Spotify.

I’ll be on my way to see this as a Christmas present! It took me a little bit of time to convince my parents to buy some tickets but I got it done eventually. I’m sitting near the front (ish), and it turns out one of my friends is also going and I didn’t even know! I’ll be keeping an eye out for him then, but that’s the end of this.
I’ll put more updates when I get an outfit and when I have pictures of the event!

1/1/24

I got to go to the concert a few days ago, and I will say that it was the best thing i've ever experienced! The Symphony was beautiful, and the metal half was super fun! I have never seen so many Sonic fans in the same place, so to see a theatre full of people who also like sonic was super awesome!

Now, technically, my first concert was one of the Kidz Bop World Tour 2019 shows, but i don't like to count it (especially because I won the tickets on the radio and otherwise would not have gone out of my way to get them, haha). Make no mistake, it was fun, but certainly not my first choice of live music.

Some of my favorite songs during the performance were Palmtree Panic during the Sonic CD Medley, Green Hill Zone during the Sonic the Hedgehog Medley, His World (Sonic '06'), Undefeatable (Sonic Frontiers), I'm Here (Sonic Frontiers), Knight of the Wind (Sonic and the Black Knight), and I Am... All of Me (Shadow the Hedgehog). I liked a lot of the medley songs, but it was harder for me to distinguish them because they were all mixed together.

One of my favorite total parts of the concert was the metal half. Because these songs had lyrics, the crowd was able to sing together! I didn't know a lot of these songs because I didn't play most Sonic games as a kid. I've never been very good at them, or asked for more of them (because I kept getting stuck at Ocean Palace in Sonic Heroes). Although I was a little out of the loop, the energy was palpable and contagious, and I had just as much fun watching everyone else enjoy themsleves!

During the performace, you could tell the orchestra and band were having just as much fun as the audicence. They had so much chemistry together, and the music they were making sounded beautiful. It was apparent both groups worked incredibly hard to perfect the music they performed that night! The announcers who spoke in between some segments were so fun and I felt like they were enjoying themselves as well.

All in all, that was the most fun i've had in a while and easily the best (out of three currently) live music experiences. The announcers told us that we were their most energetic concert yet, and with all of the singing and cheering we were doing I can certainly believe that! While having fun, everyone was incredibly respectful about not being so loud that the music was inaudible which I am very grateful for. I saw so many people in various Sonic themed outfits, from onesies to jackets to custom-made costumes. The energy of the crowd and the beauty of the music, combined with the overall feeling of connection between everyone was beautiful. In my opinion, any Sonic fan who can should definetly experience a Sonic Symphony concert!

Thanks if you took the time to read all of this! I caught about 95% of the concert on video (with 5% battery to spare ), so once I get that uploaded to Dropbox I will link it below so you can see what the concert was like!

BACK?